Curlews over Coolnafearagh (CD)

The Bridge Ceili Band

The Bridge Ceili Band was formed when nine musicians from the border area of Kildare, Laois and Offaly came together to form a band to compete in the Leinster Fleadh in 1970. They would win the Senior Ceili Band Competition at that Fleadh, before going on to win six All-Ireland titles. Today, despite many personnel changes, they retain the original 'Bridge sound', with the same ensemble of five fiddles, two flutes, accordion, piano and drums.


1 Reels: Miss McDonald, The Lads of Laois (3.38)
2 Jigs: The Rollicking Boys of Tanderagee (3.17)
3 Hornpipes: The Poppy Leaf, President Garfield's (2.55)
4 Reels: The Boys of the Lough, The Dawn (3.36)
5 Waltz: Tom Ahearne's Waltz (3.45)
6 Reels: Maudabawn Chapel, Sheila Coyle's (3.31)
7 Reels: Tonn Teine, Ormond Sound (4,42)
8 Jigs: The Hidden Ireland, The Sweep Road (3.14)
9 Marches: GabhlanNa Gaoithe, Gort Sean Rua (4.28)
10 Reels: The Blockers, The Reel of Rio (4.12)
11 Hornpipes: The Golden Eagle, The Impish (3.06)
12 Jigs: Jocelyn's, Tom Hackett's Dream (3.48)
13 Reels: Violet Hill, Paddy Taylor's (3.36)